Summer 2013 Anime in Review – Part 2

[HorribleSubs] The World God Only Knows - Goddesses Arc - 12 [720p].mkv_snapshot_22.24_[2013.09.27_20.49.19]

Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai: Megami-hen

I’ve noticed a certain trend when it comes to my Kaminomi scoring. Simply put, this series just gets better every season. I rather enjoyed both previous seasons, but this Goddesses Arc really was the icing on the cake. I’m just pointing this out because it’s weird; series usually get worse, not better. But I’m definitely not complaining.

While I did find myself confused during the first episode (because, really, if you’re gonna skip events between seasons, don’t just assume that everyone reads the manga and give a decent summary at least; random, short flashbacks do not count as such), there wasn’t really much time to wonder about certain events. There were important things to deal with from the get-go, like having to save Kanon. Things get serious, and urgent. We also have a real enemy this time around, and a clear goal. These things really help in giving the series a direction and they’re what made me look forward to a new episode every week.

Also, Haqua. I love Elsie and everything, but Haqua is my kind of girl, and she was badass (even if she ended up getting her ass handed).

On another note, I also have to admit that the season made me like girls I really didn’t care about before. Namely, Chihiro (and Ayumi to a certain degree). I just felt so terrible for her… On several occasions. The last episode really left a bittersweet taste but I can’t complain about it because overall it felt like a round episode. I wouldn’t change anything in it.

Yeah, it’s really hard to feel so satisfied at the end of a season while at the same time hoping for more (I’m obviously totally on the Chihiro team now, no matter what kind of character Keima conquers later on).

It’s really only the minor details that made me refrain from giving this season a higher score, because overall I’m happy with how things turned out and I’m looking forward to any more possible sequels. Hopefully with a slightly changed, more human, Keima (I do like the usual Keima, but I need to see him slightly changed to know that what happened with Chihiro truly meant something at least).

Score: 8/10

[HorribleSubs] Watamote - 12 [720p].mkv_snapshot_01.19_[2013.09.27_23.57.23]

Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui

Watamote was probably the anime I had highest expectations for. Though thinking back, it might just have been because it was the one I knew the most about without having come across any source material previously. I mean, that title does give away a big part of the plot. Not to say all of it.

Regardless of misplaced expectations however, the show really did have potential. It was different, for starters. There are plenty of shows out there that follow your typical socially inept otaku, but Moko’s issues hardly arise from her being an otaku. She’s just not good at expressing herself, in general.

Now, if that were all, the comedy elements would have actually been funny in a cute way maybe, and Moko’s many mishaps might’ve come off as endearing.

Instead, we have a really self-centered main character who can’t even appreciate all the actual good she has around her (I mean really, what kind of person keeps calling their only friend a bitch?) and her many fail moments are either deserved, or simply cringe-worthy.

That said, it’s not like many people can’t relate to Moko, one way or another, so that’s probably the show’s biggest strength. It just would’ve been better if she weren’t such a pain in the ass. And if the writers realized that watchers aren’t so heartless as to laugh at some of the harsh stuff that they figured could pass off for comedy.

Score: 6/10

[HorribleSubs] Servant x Service - 13 [720p].mkv_snapshot_13.29_[2013.09.27_22.20.12]

Servant x Service

Hasebe. That says it all.

Okay, maybe not. But Hasebe’s definitely a big part of that score at the bottom.

Servant x Service is cute (not in a moe up the butt kind of way), funny, sweet, oh, and it’s not about school kids! That last part really shouldn’t be so important, but really, 95% of anime are based on students. It’s nice to have an office setting for a change.

I rarely enjoy carefree shows this much, but when you find yourself d’aww-ing and wishing you could give some characters a pat on the back every now and then, you know the show is doing something right.

Score: 8/10

[Mezashite] Aikatsu! - 50 [720p][CC636F3F].mkv_snapshot_08.41_[2013.09.27_23.00.01]

Aikatsu!

I’m counting any series that ends this season as part of the season and that includes Aikatsu! as well, even if its 2nd season is starting the week after this one ended.

So, I originally decided to watch Aikatsu! because of Kotobuki Minako, however, just as with Dokidoki! Precure, I ended up enjoying the series for what it was and growing rather fond of those bright, straightforward characters. If only the real idol world was as beautiful as it is in this anime.

It’s a real shame that the show’s soundtrack is so mediocre though, considering music is such an important element in it. Also, I’m still disappointed Minako doesn’t get to sing. I mean, it’s not like the characters’ singers are all that good. All the seiyuu could have done the singing themselves and I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t have sounded any worse (maybe even better, in some cases).

But more than the songs or the performances, I enjoyed the friendship/rivalry aspect in Aikatsu! the most, as well as the whole “working hard to achieve one’s goal” theme. It’s like watching AKB48 but without the annoying drama.

Heck, I’m looking forward to next season!

Score: 7/10

[Vivid] Stella Jogakuin Koutouka C3-bu - 13 [2503F94D].mkv_snapshot_06.58_[2013.09.27_23.34.27]

Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C3-bu

Girls and guns… Or plastic guns at least. Well, I’m not sure what I was expecting of cute girls playing survival games, but certainly not the drama I had to cringe through.

When C3-bu was just cute girls doing not-so-cute things, it was boring. When they added the unnecessary drama, it became annoying.

Our main character, Yura, gets the badge for most annoying character of the season. She even managed to outclass Shingeki no Kyojin‘s Eren! (Interesting season this was. Best character was male and worst was female. I rarely think that.)

But it’s not like all was bad. The survival matches were kinda entertaining and some of the other characters were likable enough. Still, not enough to make up for Yura’s mess.

I think there was another survival game anime green-lit recently… Well, good job C3-bu in making sure I stay away from that.

Score: 5/10

Leave a Reply

