Summer 2013 Anime in Review – Part 1

[HorribleSubs] Blood Lad - 10 [720p].mkv_snapshot_21.40_[2013.09.23_20.16.21]

Blood Lad

For a vampire-led shounen, Blood Lad had a certain unique touch that made it stand out from the bazillion vampire and shounen series out there. Actually, vampires and the shounen genre don’t usually go together to begin with, so that’s a start.

Just like your typical shounen manga/anime, there are battles, and comedy, and some fanservice. But the battles are fairly realistic (for a show with a Demon World setting that is) and our main character doesn’t start off as this super powerful hero. Actually, Staz can hardly be called a hero, and the series itself stresses on that quite a bit. It’s kind of nice having a dark hero in an often comedic setting.

However, I do have one major complaint, and that’s the pacing. With only 10 episodes to work with, they really should have sped some things up. Instead, towards the end of the season, it felt like Staz had hardly advanced in his quest to bring Fuyumi back to life. And that whole cliffhanger with Braz? I can’t even bring myself to care about it, because I simply wasn’t given enough material to make me care about Braz and his schemes.

If the series does get a 2nd season, I really hope it’ll be more fulfilling.

Score: 6/10

[HorribleSubs] Fate Kaleid Liner PRISMA ILYA - 10 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_13.48_[2013.09.23_20.08.14]

Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya

Probably one of the anime I was looking forward to the most this season, since I’d read part of the manga before and thoroughly enjoyed that. Luckily, the anime did not disappoint (you know how hard it is to say that about manga adaptations). The series was faithful to the original work, as well as nicely animated and well paced. There’s really nothing to complain about here.

Prisma Illya is a mahou shoujo anime through and through, with just the right balance between comedy and seriousness. And the best part is that you don’t need to have been exposed to any previous Fate/ work to enjoy the show fully. Although of course, if you have watched Fate/Stay Night and/or Fate/Zero (or played/read any of the novels), then seeing those same characters in a completely different environment simply adds that much more to the enjoyment factor.

I really can’t wait for season 2 to come around (and they better remain faithful to that too!). In the meantime, I’ll be following the Prisma Illya 3rei manga very closely.

Score: 8/10

[HorribleSubs] Inu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyou - 12 [720p].mkv_snapshot_04.42_[2013.09.25_21.32.50]

Inu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyou

I have no idea how I managed to stick with this till the end, but I did. I mean let’s face it, a story about a dog that likes reading? Come on. Now, I actually kinda liked Natsuno at first (despite my usual distaste for violent tsunderes) but then she started having feelings for her dog… I don’t care if he was originally a human who died to protect her and can not-really-speak to her, he’s a frikkin’ dog.

I suppose the series was trying to be funny in its ridiculousness, but it felt like it’d stopped at ridiculous, without reaching funny. And then there were moments we were supposed to take seriously… but I couldn’t do that either.

This was probably my biggest waste of time this season. Honestly, just how did I stick to it?

Score: 5/10

[HorribleSubs] Gin no Saji - 11 [720p].mkv_snapshot_11.53_[2013.09.23_19.55.55]

Gin no Saji

I still can’t get my head around how a series about farm life can be so entertaining. It really takes skill to turn such a boring topic into a top class series. Hats off to Arakawa-sensei for managing that.

Silver Spoon is one of those extremely human series. I suppose that’s a weird thing to say considering the story revolves around animals as well, but as a rabbit owner who has to deal with stew jokes on an almost daily basis, I really sympathize with the Pork Bowl story.

And while bringing to light issues that we usually don’t think twice about (well, unless you’re a vegan), Silver Spoon also deals with common highschool drama (like “What am I going to do with my life after graduation?” among others) with plenty of room for comedy as well.

All in all, this really was an enjoyable watch, and I can’t wait for season 2 to come around next year.

Score: 8/10

[HorribleSubs] Kiniro Mosaic - 12 [720p].mkv_snapshot_21.22_[2013.09.23_21.53.52]

Kiniro Mosaic

What’s better than moeblob anime? Moeblob anime with yuri canon of course.

Okay, so maybe the yuri isn’t really canon, but it sure as hell could be. There is no denying the Ayaya x Youko ship, and I for one have been on board since it first started sailing.

Actually, I daresay I only truly started enjoying Kiniro Mosaic when Aya’s imagination took front seat. Because let’s face it, those first couple of episodes with all the Engrish were extremely grating.

I’m really glad I stuck around for the entire season, because there were some golden (no pun intended) moments throughout, especially towards the end. And especially that last episode. Shino’s story about princesses and princes and pirates and mermaids was epic.

Season 2 please? Preferably with more Karen.

Score: 7/10

Leave a Reply

