Wet (Review)

If I had to describe Wet in one word, that would be “ambitious”.

Truth be told, I didn’t have very high expectations when I started the game. I literally just got it because of the badass-looking chick on the cover, for real. I mean, there’s really not much to expect as far as story goes when you’re playing as an assassin for hire. It also didn’t help that a friend who played the demo told me not long after I bought the game that he found the demo boring.

Now, the first couple of hours of gameplay were indeed quite boring. But once Ruby, the main character, gets her moves and weapons upgraded, she starts kicking some serious ass. The whole acrobatic moves thing really adds to the third person shooter experience. Unfortunately, this is also where the games falls short of its ambition. Controls just aren’t smooth enough, and it’s a real shame. I was missing the simplest of jumps sometimes, just because the joystick was turned in a slightly off direction, or because I jumped half a beat too soon. It gets better once you get the hang of it and start being a little bit more careful, but that takes a little too long. It also takes away a bit from the entertainment factor; I don’t want to have to bother with tiny little moves when there’s a mob around me shooting from all directions while waiting to get its ass handed.

3527.WET 1

5 things I liked:
– Acrobatics. If only the controls were smoother. It still looks great though, shooting and slashing in midair and in slow motion.
– Soundtrack. You don’t need famous composers to pick the right track for the right scene. Old school country and rock n’ roll serves as great accompaniment to the game’s setting.
– Rage mode. It might look cheap, but the simplicity of seeing 90% in red and the urgency it creates sure gets the point across.
– Setting. North America, East Asia and Europe. Jumping around 3 continents definitely deserves a mention.
– Okay, so maybe Ruby is kinda kickass.

5 things I didn’t like:
– Story. I didn’t expect much and I didn’t get much. You’re basically just doing your job for half of the game, then looking for revenge.
– Characters. Ruby is cool but she’s as shallow as a character can get. And so is every single other character in the game. Heck, they’re not even original.
– Controls. Probably the biggest turn off for me. Smooth gameplay makes for fun gameplay in my books. Otherwise it’s just frustrating.
– Repetitive. I got bored of the boss stages around the 3rd time. And they kept popping up. Some variety, please.
– Scoring. I get that the acrobatics are cool, but what’s wrong with wanting to go around slashing people up with your katana? It’s there for a reason! So yeah, acrobatic kills just count for too much.

All in all, it’s not really a game I’d recommend, but I don’t particularly regret playing it either. I got it for the kickass chick and I got my kickass chick. As long as you know what you’re getting into, it’s all good.

Leave a Reply

