Batman: Arkham Asylum (Review)

So I went into this right after finishing Tomb Raider (2013) twice… One hour into the game I realized that was a terrible mistake. Let me make it very clear that I loved Tomb Raider, and one of the things I loved the most was just how emotional Lara is throughout the entire game. So Batman and his unchanging grim face kind of felt irritating. But well, I should’ve seen that coming.

Luckily the feeling only lasted for the first couple of hours of gameplay, then I got pretty invested. Until it started crashing that is. I don’t know if it was a bug or Steam’s fault or whatever, but yeah, luckily it only did that twice. Scarecrow was what really got me going though, followed by the rest of the super criminals that show up. By the time I was nearing the end of the game I was hoping for more, so that’s a good sign, right? Well, depends on how you look at it I suppose.

Anyway, I’m not one for posting lengthy reviews, so here’s just a summary of the best and the worst, in my opinion.

batman-arkham-asylum-wallpaper-3

5 things I liked:
– Voice acting. Not just the acting in itself, but also some of the lip movements that went with that.
– Battle movements. Those were just sick. Really cool, really dynamic, but I also pretty much killed all the mobs by mashing 2 buttons (and swinging around the joystick).
– Clothes ripping. Loved it in Tomb Raider, liked it almost as much here. I’m not a pervert or anything though, really.
– Scarecrow. Probably my favorite parts of the game. Messed up, confusing but oh so thrilling.
– Boss fights. The battles themselves might have been somewhat lacking, but they didn’t feel repetitive or similar and that’s nice.

5 things I didn’t like:
– Batman. It’s not a secret that I’m not a fan of most superheroes, but seriously, I don’t care if it’s the goddamn Batman, show some emotion dude!
– Walking. Batman’s regular walking speed just looked stiff and out of place. Plus why do I have to press an additional button to run? Oh, and I’d like to able to jump, please.
– Battle mechanics. So Batman looks really cool kicking all that ass, but as I already mentioned, mashing the same two buttons ain’t fun.
– Playtime. It’s short! Finished the game in 10 hours with 70% done. Not a very impressive percentage but I wasn’t too interested in solving all those riddles and whatnot.
– Storyline. Boring, typical, expected.

One thought on “Batman: Arkham Asylum (Review)

Leave a Reply

